Stand For More Ridiculous Histrionics From the Dominant Culture

Oh boy. Here we go again. The War On the Imaginary War On Christmas has escalated the interweb hand-wringing. Check out standforchristmas.com, a site that has been brought to you by the outstanding folks at Focus on the Family. As the site informs:

Millions upon millions in our nation deeply value the great truths of Christmas and the holiday’s inspiring place in American life and culture. We hope you will take a moment to “Stand for Christmas” by sharing feedback about your Christmas shopping experiences.

We’re asking YOU to decide which retailers are “Christmas-friendly.” They want your patronage and your gift-shopping dollars, but do they openly recognize Christmas?

Participants are asked to indicate whether a particular retailer is “Christmas-Friendly,” “Christmas-negligent,” or “Christmas-offensive.”  Readers should know that “Christmas-friendly” does not mean merely that a store does business with one who celebrates Christmas; nor does “Christmas-offensive” mean that a store has taken an action that is hostile toward one who celebrates Christmas.

No no no! For example, check out the following review of Banana Republic:

Comment Date: Nov 28 2009 10:13 AM

Rating: Christmas-Offensive

Comment: I clicked on their ad and used their search function. Typing in “Christmas gifts” I got “Holiday gifts.” Narrowing my search, I typed in “Christmas” and got “0 results for this search.” They will get the same number of purchases from me.

If one does not use the word “Christmas,” then one is offensive.  Likewise, simply acknowledging another religion’s holiday is offensive to those who observe Christmas. Most people have probably heard about the shitstorm over Best Buy. You can see the full story, as well as the HORRIBLY OFFENSIVE AND ANTI-CHRISTIAN ad here.

Wanna know what the bigots at Stand for Christmas think? Oh you know you do!

Comment Date: Dec 1 2009 6:27 AM

Rating: Christmas-Offensive

Comment: We purchased $2000.00 of computer equipment in June & were planning to purchase a Net book & wii system for Christmas. However, I found the Thanksgiving ad celebrating the Muslim holiday offensive. I am disappointed in Best Buy and intend to make my CHRISTMAS purchases & all other puchases in the future elsewhere. I only wish I had known in June-I would have spent that money elsewhere also. I think Best Buy should reconsider their policy!!

Comment Date: Nov 30 2009 9:58 AM

Rating: Christmas-Offensive

Comment: Who on earth do these people have in their marketing department? The number one rule of marketing is to promote your items to people who will buy them. I understand that Eid al-Adha was the day after Thanksgiving, but I don’t buy presents for that holiday any more than I would for Thanksgiving. Like the majority of Americans, I buy *Christmas* presents in honor of the gift God gave to us in the form of Jesus Christ. However, I will NOT be buying them from Best Buy this year. I will Christmas shop ONLY at stores that promote Christmas!!!

Comment Date: Nov 30 2009 7:33 AM

Rating: Christmas-Offensive

Comment: Christmas Negligent AND Offensive, Best Buy. Shame on you. I have purchased much from you each CHRISTMAS Season,but not this year!This is too much for us to grasp–WHY do you feel it important to give good wishes to the Muslim community, and at the same time offend so many Christians and Americans. Maybe you need to reconsider having your business in America. May God help you reconsider your stance.

And just in case this isn’t sufficient righteous indignation, please check the full-strength unfiltered crazy here and here.

So, apparently, in order to be considered “Christmas-friendly,” a retailer must overtly and explicitly recognize Christmas in advertising, personnel interaction, and store decorations and said recognition better be happening by Thanksgiving. In addition, a retailer CANNOT recognize any other religious holidays and must understand that the only event of any importance occurring after Thanksgiving is Christmas.  Furthermore, if a retailer fails to acknowledge Christmas as separate from and superior to all other religious events, then that retailer is patently offensive to christianity.

Good grief, people. What the fuck more do you want? Oh yeah – total control, I forgot. Can’t you just settle for being the dominant culture and leave the rest of us in peace? Oops – forgot that “peace” is offensive, too.

One of My Reasons for the Season

16 Comments

  1. Lori Ann Manis said,

    December 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    where would Jesus shop?

    I’m glad these consumers are keeping up the true spirit of christmas . . .

  2. Henry said,

    December 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I think I’ll do ALL of my Winter Solstice Holiday shopping at Best Buy.

  3. The Queen said,

    December 2, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Nothing pleases Jesus better than using his name as an excuse for maxing out your credit card on stuff made by communist atheists in China.

    Having said that, I am a little annoyed by the fact that we are not going to have any sort of holiday luncheon or party at work this year, because of HR’s fear that someone might be offended by a Christmas party, or even by a Holiday party where people get reasonably decent gifts from the company. That is the kind of PC thinking that has led to the backlash that we’re seeing above.

  4. southern female lawyer said,

    December 2, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    WTF? For real? I am SO going to report your employer to Stand for Christmas. And Stand for Solstice. And Stand for Godless Consumption.

    Seriously, though, that is ridiculous. Who is offended by a “holiday party”? Are you sure this isn’t just Employer’s attempt to save some $$$?

  5. reithena said,

    December 2, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Thanks for the link to the article! I applaud both BB and Gap for expanding their holiday know-how. For the first time in forever I, as a wiccan, feel somewhat included by the Gap just MENTIONING Solstice…we aren’t exact, but we are getting there. I don’t know, I just find the bigotry silly…

  6. COD said,

    December 2, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    I still trying to figure out if it’s ok for us non-believers to celebrate Christmas. Should I not do that?

  7. southern female lawyer said,

    December 2, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    COD – my personal experience is that modern evangelicals seem not to care about blasphemy and are utterly unfazed by lip service Christianity or even participation in Christian activities by non-Christians. Perhaps the subjective element of conversion (belief) is not as important as objective participation in arguably religious activities? I still think it is offensive – if not to believers, then to belief in general.

    But as for celebrating Christmas? I have always celebrated it and it has never been about the birth of Christ to me, even though I understand and respect that it is for some. To me, this is a time for the celebration of family, friends, and community, the recognition of achievements, and the putting-to-bed of failures and regrets.

    And despite what the close-minded and selfish folks of the Stand for Christmas ilk think, Christmas really isn’t the only holiday in town these days, nor has it traditionally cornered the market on end-of-year celebrations. The way I see it, our American Christmas is the modern culmination of millennia of radically different beliefs, traditions, socioeconomic systems, and cultures into one general holiday that many of us celebrate regardless of faith and most of us at least acknowledge, and the idea of Christmas is recognized and celebrated in a manner that is uniquely American.

    So, the way I see it, Christmas or “the holidays” or ChristmaKwanzaRamadanaHannuFestivuSolstikah or whatever you may call it is as secular or holy as its observer. And people can call it whatever they want and celebrate however they choose. It would just be nice if those who work themselves into a fury over insisting that we ALL remember and acknowledge the superiority of THEIR “reason” for the season would also remember the spirit of the season.

  8. December 2, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    What would Jesus buy? Nothing, if you’ve read what he says in the B-I-B-L-E.

  9. Elisa said,

    December 2, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    The Gap has actually caved under pressure from the American Family Assoc. (? right, whatever), and has a new ad coming out that will say “Merry Christmas,” to replace the cheer spot/The Cheer Factory from early Nov., that proclaimed “Go Christmas! Go Hanukkah! Go Kwanzaa! Go Holiday!”

    As someone who works in advertising, this whole deal really puzzles me. The first ad was clearly trying to be universal … was catchy, though somewhat annoying, and it DID mention Christmas. The beef from AFA was that it didn’t put enough emphasis on the word.

    I’m just surprised that the Gap felt compelled to pull the ad. I thought the brand was more about embracing diversity, but I’m just a lowly ad woman .. what do I know. And aaahh the reach of Glen Beck … who I read brought it up on one of his programs. ?

    The whole thing seems like 4 steps back versus any forward progress.

  10. The Queen said,

    December 2, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    SFL – the no holiday party thing may be an attempt to save money – wouldn’t surprise me! But if that’s the case, just say so – don’t talk about being inclusive, etc.

    Elisa, the Gap deserves everything thing it gets for coming up with that damn “Talk to the Moose” commercial with the gaggle of prepubescent cheerleader wanna-bes. I HATE that ad, and it’s on all the time (including just now during Glee) and now I’m going to go around all evening humming “I love my chunky sweater/I love my chunky sweater/How cute are these boots/how cute are these boots.”

  11. December 2, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    That “Stand for Christmas” website is a chamber of horrors. Yikes.

  12. December 2, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Elisa —

    That’s said and kind of inexplicable. For those of you who haven’t seen the original Gap ad (in all its irritating glory), here ’tis … I guess it will be gone soon:

  13. CLambert said,

    December 3, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Well, according to the “STAND FOR CHRISTMAS” website, those people will only be happy to shop at Bass Pro Shop & Cabelas (I like both by the way – I’m probably the only liberal that regularly shops there for fishing and camping gear). That should tell you a lot about the demographic that we are working with here.

    Certainly doesn’t help that we live in the middle of the proverbial lions den in the South either.

  14. Salvador Dalai Llama said,

    December 3, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    All I have to say is… Holy Jesus.

  15. Elisa said,

    December 4, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Correction! Looks like the Gap didn’t pull the ad, but produced a “Merry Christmas” ad for Old Navy.

    http://bit.ly/7CIbWf

    Here’s the Gap’s press release on the matter … which does make me feel a bit better.

    Creepy Old Navy ad promoting xmas.

  16. southern female lawyer said,

    December 4, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Good – that makes me feel so much better. I love when retailers are inclusive and Gap has really led the way in that. I was very upset when I thought that they were going to cave and pull an ad that CLEARLY acknowledged most major seasonal holidays.

    If people are upset by the Gap ads they can either (a) not shop there, (b) turn down the volume and chant “Christ Christ Christ Christ….” ’til the ad is over, or (c) realize that they are being petty, self-centered asses, turn off the freaking tv, and go out and do something generous and kindspirited that REALLY pays tribute to Christ.


Leave a Reply

