“… I Ain’t Holding Back Anymore!!”

Okay, so whenever we discuss examples of racism, bigotry, whathaveyou in the TEA movement, we are invariably told (a) that liberals/the MSM are making it up, (b) that these are just a few “bad apples” who don’t really represent what real TEAfolk stand for, (c) that liberals/the MSM are making much ado about nothing, and/or (d) that liberals/the MSM are the REAL racists/bigots/whathaveyou.

My point, as I have raised again and again, is how the non racists/bigots in the TEA movement can justify standing with such people?

Well, here is a bigger question:  How can ANYONE in the TEA movement condone acts of violence? As reported at length in the Charlottesville Daily Progress here, Federal and local authorities are investigating a severed gas line at the home of U.S. Rep. Tom Perriello’s brother, discovered the day after Tea Party activists posted the address online so opponents could “drop by” and “express their thanks” for Perriello’s vote in favor of health care reform. From the Daily Progress:

Two members of the conservative Tea Party groups in Danville and Lynchburg posted the home’s address online Monday, mistakenly believing it belonged to the congressman. The home actually belongs to Bo Perriello, the congressman’s older brother.

The local FBI field office and the Albemarle County fire marshal are investigating the incident. Police have stepped up patrols in the area as well.

Albemarle County spokeswoman Lee Catlin confirmed that county authorities are investigating an incident at Bo Perriello’s home in cooperation with the FBI, but she said she cannot comment on the specifics because it is an ongoing investigation.

“The Fire Marshal’s Office is conducting the investigation in cooperation with the FBI,” Catlin said. “While officials are not willing to characterize the exact nature of the incident because of the ongoing investigation, it did not involve an immediate threat to occupants of the residence. Officials are taking the incident very seriously and conducting a vigorous investigation. Additional details will be released as the investigation continues.”

M.A. Myers, a spokesman with the FBI’s Richmond field office, confirmed that the agency is “aware” of the severing of the gas line at Bo Perriello’s house.

“At this point, all I can really confirm is that we are aware of that situation,” he said.

Danville Tea Party leader Nigel Coleman was one of the two activists who posted Bo Perriello’s address online Monday.

“This is Rep. Thomas Stuart Price Perriello’s home address,” Coleman wrote Monday. “… I ain’t holding back anymore!!”

According to the Danville Register & Bee site, when Coleman learned that the address actually belonged to the congressman’s brother, he responded on a blog: “Do you mean I posted his brother’s address on my Facebook? Oh well, collateral damage.”

Coleman told The Daily Progress today that he is “shocked” and “almost speechless” at the possibility that someone would sever the propane line to Perriello’s brother’s house.

“I obviously condemn these actions,” he said. “I would hope that people aren’t thinking about doing anything crazy. We just wanted people to get close to the congressman and have their voices heard. Violence is not going to answer anything. I’m a little shocked and amazed.”

Coleman added that he is not certain that the incident is related to the posting of the home’s address. “Of course, we don’t know this is a related event,” he said.

Really? Coleman “a little shocked and amazed” that someone took him up on his suggestion? Are you fucking kidding me with this shit? Seriously – “Collateral Damage?” What brave new sort of asshole ARE you?

What the hell did you THINK would happen? At BEST, it never crossed your mind that what you were doing was clearly inciting angry and frustrated people to take action, action that very well could injure the people at THE ADDRESS YOU POSTED WITHOUT BOTHERING TO VERIFY WHO LIVED THERE.

At worst, you CLEARLY knew what you were doing, and now want to give us the coy, finger in the mouth “Oopsie! I’m a bad widdle boy!” schtick.

And I suppose now is when a bunch of apologists will flood out, claiming that (a) liberals/the MSM are making this up, (b) that these are just a few “bad apples” who don’t really represent what real TEAfolk stand for, (c) that liberals/the MSM are making much ado about nothing, and/or (d) that liberals/the MSM are the REAL terrorists.

…I’m waiting…

h/t to Mark Potok at the SPLC Blog (which will, I am sure, render MY whole post invalid to those who think that the SPLC is some sort of radical fringe group).

"Sorry I Cut Your Gas Line - I Thought You Were Someone Else" Scones

6 Comments

  1. Andrew C said,

    March 24, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I’m with you on this one. Posting a political opponents’ home address is completely inappropriate. It does read as an attempt at intimidation – or a threat of violent action. That said, it is a reasonable possibility that the “action” he desired was for people to go protest outside the person’s home. I do think that’s extremely rude and intrusive, but shouldn’t be illegal.

    I also hope they are able to find the person who cut the gas line and press charges. Hopefully a conviction and substantial sentence will send a message to extremists on both the Right and Left that violence and vandalism will not be tolerated.

  2. Dr. Monkey said,

    March 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    If anyone fecks with you kids, come over to our place. We’ve got room for you.

  3. southern female lawyer said,

    March 25, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Andrew – my thoughts exactly. And while I would like to presume that Coleman didn’t actually desire anything dangerous to result, he should have considered that before he posted. And while posting such info about a public figure MIGHT be okay (and, considering the context, I do not think it wise), it certainly was very bad to give someone else’s personal information, someone who isn’t a public figure. That could actually be very bad.

    And I think your response is right on and exactly what is needed from those in the TEA movement who aren’t happy with the current perception that the group is a bunch of bigoted whack jobs. Clearly the movement is about more than that, but as long as the publicity goes to incidents like this one, and the TEA movement does not sufficiently distance itself, no one will take the intellectual side of the group seriously.

    A lot of my frustration and disgust with certain quadrants of the TEA movement is borne of disappointment that libertarians have elected to align themselves with those factions. I harbored hope that one day libertarians and far left folk could unite.

    I am not happy with the current 2 party system. I don’t see my values reflected in the Democratic party – I mean, I will occasionally hear lip service to things I believe, but I have yet to see anyone (aside from a handful of House Reps and maybe a Senator or two) actually put their money where their mouth is.

    Politically speaking, I am a non-interventionalist, don’t believe that capitalism is good for The People, and feel very strongly that the gov’t has NO business in my personal life. I also believe that if we are going to be taxed, then that money should be DIRECTLY spent on the welfare of the people and that we should first take care of our own.

    I also believe very strongly in social responsibility and feel that so long as we are capitalist in nature, then we have a duty to ensure that we are protecting the individual interests of the citizens and that we cannot leave this to religious organizations alone. Hence my strong advocacy for single-payer health, education, etc.

    I firmly believe that if we are not vigilant about putting the individual citizen first, then capitalism will destroy the middle class and we will be left with a de facto plutocracy. This is why I am so disgusted with the Citizens United decision and so opposed to lobbies.

    Maybe there is still hope – maybe the non-crazy factions of the TEA movement will split off and join me and the rest of the whack-a-doo far left crowd.

  4. southern female lawyer said,

    March 25, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Dr. Monkey, if it hits the fan, we will be there – with cookies!

  5. musicmom1956 said,

    March 26, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I have come upon your sight by shear accident. Your response to “Andrew” above is exactly how I feel but have been unable to communicate it coherently to others. I live in “bat-shit crazy” central–rural Indiana. The vigilante militia in my area just needs one more little push, one more little comment and “boom” here we go real true civil unrest. Why oh why can we not have rational discussions and at least try to hear both sides–because it does not make for good TV and the ultimate profits that would not be generated because advertisers will not purchase time on low rated shows. I work with people who get their information from ONE source and thus think it is “the Truth and the Way!” So they unconditionally believe everything and off they go. If you are not a believer —well then you are just plain wrong and a hater of the American way! Unfortunately news is no longer news it is entertainment, i.e. big business. I blame the media for a lot of the discourse we have going on right now because they sensationalize things to the nth degree and the rest I blame on the stupidity of people who can not think for themselves. You are bookmaked- I will visit often. Thanks.

  6. Peter said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Until and unless there’s at least an arrest, nobody has any idea who did this and why. I know the proffered motives fit into your narrative, but let’s find out who really did this, OK?

    Remember the Census worker who killed himself? It was teh eee-vill Right Wing!! Except it wasn’t.

    The vandalism of the Democratic offices in Denver before the election? THE RETHUGLICANS DID IT. Except they didn’t

    The young lady who was mugged at the ATM (Pittsburgh, IIRC) because she supported Obama? Um, not so much.

    If I knew who cut that gas line, I would turn his/her sorry ass in, but not until I had finished having a ‘discussion’ with the toad. Would you then assert that I was some kind of right-wing, teabagging violence freak? Even though I’ve never been to a Tea Party and am a registered Democrat?
    Yeah, I’ve heard the whole ‘you can’t take the law into your own hands’ crap up to here (insert appropriate gesture), but there are limits to what a Court can do, and sometimes a good old fashioned ass-kicking can impart what no judge and jury can. Families are off limits, and I’ll take my chances with a dozen of my peers when it comes to stuff like this. Apologies, but this has really pissed me off.
    And Mark Potok has gone off the rails, sorry to say. I don’t know the man, but he seems to be more concerned with scaring people into donating money than documenting actual ‘hate’ groups and such. It’s a real shame: the SPLC used to be such a great organization, and now they seem to be spending their time and efforts vilifying those with whom they disagree.

    Your photo has inspired me. Blueberry muffins! Warm, just out of the oven!


Leave a comment