Roe, Corker Not Impressive

So, KPT Times-News has this enlightening article about Roe and Corker’s response to Obama’s healthcare address.  My favorite part is this:

Roe, a first-term lawmaker who has been doing a number of TV network interviews lately on health care reform, said he still wants to have a meeting with the president.  “He needs to sit down on a bipartisan basis, which he has not done,” Roe said of Obama

So, let me get this straight: when Republicans refuse to give on an issue, Obama/Dems are being partisan for disagreeing. When Obama/Dems refuse to budge on an issue, they are being partisan for not giving into the Republicans. Thanks for clearing that up, Dr. Roe. I was pretty sure that bipartisanship meant working together. Now I know that it means Obama is supposed to take time to sit down with a “freshman” Rep who has made it abundantly clear that he will never support the President’s plan. If you aren’t willing to consider a public option under ANY circumstances, then what do you have to talk about?

Call us when you can figure out how the working poor and middle class are supposed to come up with $15K every year to fund your “wonder” HSAs.  

 

Congratulations Signs in Roe's Yard - 2 Days Before the Election

Congratulations Signs in Roe's Yard - 2 Days Before the Election

4 Comments

  1. September 11, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    The likelihood of Obama inviting Roe to the White House for a discussion of healthcare is about as likely as my university’s president inviting me up to the ole manse on the hill to discuss what I think is wrong with our university’s PR department: I might have some expertise in the area, but I’m just a cog in the educational machine. Heck, I’m probably a lot more likely to asked for my two cents than a freshman congressman from a deeply red district who is never going to vote for the President’s plan, no matter what. Roe just keeps on beating this drum because it is, literally, the only drum he has to beat.

  2. Snad said,

    September 12, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    It gets him a great deal of sympathy. So does his surprised yokel schtick about reading 1000+ page bills like he doesn’t know what his staff is there for. People at the forums were eating it up like manna from heaven.

  3. southern female lawyer said,

    September 12, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Yeah – and the ‘boy GOLLY can you believe that make us vote on this stuff at 5:00 a.m. schtick is equally blech. I am weary of this ‘I may not be a fancy, big city Congressman’ crap. Dude, you are a doctor, a very wealthy doctor/businessperson. More wealthy than probably 99% of your constituency. You are NOT ‘one of us.’ I would complain about him acting like David Davis, but judging from the reaction at the townhalls, that seems to be working pretty well for him.

  4. Emperor Justinian said,

    September 16, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I have trouble believing that Phil Roe is a Congressman. I remember when he was the “Repeat” to Pete Paduch’s ‘Pete & Repeat’. I’m glad that I moved. David Davis was bad enough. Rob Russell needs to do what Rusty Crowe did and just switch parties so he can win!


Leave a comment