Demand-A-Dish – Special Holiday Pastry Edition

YAY! The holidays are HERE – and for me, that means time to make some fancy treats. So, I thought I would kick things off with a little Demand-A-Fancy-Regional-Treat action. Below are five different pastries and/or sweetbreads that I have not ever made before. (note that buche du noel is not on the list because (1) I have made it before and (2) plan to make it later this month).

If you have any experience with any of these, making or eating, please comment and share. . SO, vote early and often and TELL ME WHAT TO BAKE!

8 Comments

  1. WJAC said,

    December 4, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Panettone makes great bread pudding!!

  2. Rob Russell said,

    December 4, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I don’t know what ANY of those things are … and I’m married to you. Please elaborate.

  3. Monica Gonzalez said,

    December 4, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Can you give me a brief description of each so I can make an educated decision. Thank you!

  4. December 5, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I voted for sufganiyou because I have NO idea what it is!

  5. December 5, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    And yes I cheated. I voted more than once. You caught me!

  6. December 5, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    .. Oh, and I sent some friends over here!

    🙂

  7. December 6, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Oh noes, the Panettone lobby has struck! Rats!!!!

  8. southern female lawyer said,

    December 6, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Thank GOD/GODS/GOODNESS that the sufganiyot lobby won! I was really dreading making panettone! For those who are wondering: panettone is a traditional Italian version of fruitcake. Kringle is an awesome Danish/Wisconsin pastry treat (right now, the very awesome Earth Faire is carrying authentic kringle – we grabbed a raspberry kringle and I will blog on its deliciousness tomorrow). Sufganiyot is a supertasty Jewish deep-fried fruit-filled donut thing (see here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sufganiyah). Pestinos are Spanish Christmas donuts. Melomakarona are Greek Christmas cookies.

    I am WAY tipsy right now…


Leave a Reply

