How Do I Take My Tea – YOU Make The Call!

So I recently posted on how I believe that some of my relatives are either part or simply in favor of the whole TEAbaggery thing. Which leaves me with a dilemma of the mannerly sort. Aside from my recent blunder, it isn’t my habit to refer to “teabaggers” or “teabaggery” when in the company of those whom I might offend. However, in the company of well-known people and on this blog, I happily and frequently use those terms, as I have great issues with the whole thing and, as the blog indicates, I will engage in the snarking as I wish. It is, after all, my blog. If someone doesn’t like it, they are free to ignore it.

So, anyhow, now that I *know* that I have TEA in the family, is it rude for me to continue to use the terms “teabagger” and “teabaggery?” Note that I seriously doubt that any of my conservative relatives frequent this blog. But even if they did – it is still *my* blog. And I mean what I say. And I really feel very strongly that the whole TEA thing is ridiculous, scary, and potentially dangerous and I am NOT going to stop blogging about it.

But should I be nicer? I want to be nice to my relatives. I love and respect them and all that, but knowing they are part of the TEA thing doesn’t change my opinion of the TEA thing at all. And honestly? I am not going to change the way I treat this subject. So should I change the language I use?

Tell me what to do…

8 Comments

  1. The Queen said,

    November 1, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    I just voted for “TEA Party Patriots” and “Please more references to teabaggery” because I think both are hilarious. Don’t change your blog – perhaps continued ridicule will wake some people up.

  2. Snad said,

    November 1, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Rev. John made the connection between the Tea Party and Alice in Wonderland and refers to them as Mad Hatters. I like that.

  3. Vic said,

    November 1, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    I voted for “Please more references to teabaggery” and “Our moral superiors”. I like the tongue-in-cheek sound of the second.

  4. Dr. Monkey said,

    November 2, 2009 at 1:27 am

    I love how the tea baggers kept their mouths shut when Bush squandered the surplus Clinton left him.

  5. Helen Jean Smith said,

    November 2, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Hi [SFL]: Good Blog. I enjoyed Hallowe’en at your home. You should run for Congress.

  6. Mark Turner said,

    November 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Go for it. I pissed off my relatives so many times with my blog that I lost count. It’s my blog, though, and they’re free to start their own if they’d like.

    My take is that if they don’t want to know what you’re really thinking, they don’t have to read. Teabag away!

    (here via Chris O’Donnell)

  7. cyntax said,

    November 2, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    I gotta with the snark: our moral superiors.

  8. democommie said,

    November 2, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    “Teabaggers” is one of the LESS offensive epithets those idiots generate in my head.


Leave a Reply

