Sweet Potato Gnocchi

 

Yeah, I tried to come up with a title that punned on the word gnocchi, but really couldn’t come up with anything that great.  Anyhoodle, last week’s winning Demand-A-Dish was Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Sage, from the Gourmet recipe archives. I have never made gnocchi before, so I was a little apprehensive. But one of the things I find so wonderful about Gourmet/Epicurious – and one of the reasons I am so sad to see it fold – is that the recipes are very easy to follows AND it gives you as much information as you need to make a dish you have never made before – even if it is pretty complicated (coq au vin, anyone?).  

And people?  I have to say the gnocchi was a rousing success.  First, make the sweet potatoes…

 

Nice Yams!

Nice Yams!

Then add the ricotta, parm, flour, etc…

 

Making gnocchi

Making gnocchi

My mis:

 

Gnocchi mis

Gnocchi mis

Then make the brown butter sauce:

 

Brown Butter and Sage

Brown Butter and Sage

Then sit down and tuck in!

 

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Sage

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Brown Butter and Sage

1 Comment

  1. southernbeale said,

    October 12, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    OMG that looks WONDERFUL! I have GOT to try that recipe, as soon as I get my kitchen back!


Leave a Reply

