I Wanna Be the Girl with the Most Cake

Someone just asked me what birthday cake I would make for myself.  And of course, my immediate reaction was “Let the people vote!”  Seriously, I don’t really know what my ideal birthday cake is.  There are just cakes I love to bake.  For example,there are cakes that I love to make for other people on their birthday:

Raspberry Mocha Cake

Raspberry Mocha Cake

Cupcakes I made for my wedding:

 

Wedding Cake

Wedding Cake

 

And various kids’ cakes:

 

lego cake

lego cake

 But for my OWN birthday, I would like to bake something fun and tasty.  Or fancy and elegant.  Something challenging, but rewarding.  So, what cake do YOU all think I should bake?  Comment away!

6 Comments

  1. southern female lawyer said,

    September 23, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I am going to get this party rolling and suggest traditional southern coconut cake.

  2. Amy T said,

    September 23, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    A stacked pineapple upside down cake

  3. Abbie said,

    September 23, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Over on FB, you’ve got me craving carrot cake now. So I’m voting for that.

  4. Angela Noon said,

    September 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Red Velvet

  5. Andrea said,

    September 23, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Almond Italian Cream Cake (or perhaps an upside down upside down cake, hehe, would that make it a right side up cake?)

  6. Snad said,

    September 23, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    The cake I would make for MYSELF is the same one I made for my nephew, Lukie, for his 12th – and it is now his favorite. I used RLB’s Cordon Rose Banana Cake but used pureed strawberries, instead. I had some chocolate buttercream from something else I had made, so I iced it with that, then topped it with fresh strawberries and poured a dark chocolate ganache over it. Here it is: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1376256&id=609808115

    Brother Mike is making a chocolate cake for my birthday, which is next week, so for the first time in years I don’t have to make my own. He’s making lasagna, too. He makes great lasagna!


Leave a Reply

