Coq of the Walk

Okay, okay, so I know this post is seriously delayed, but let me tell you folks – making coq au vin is a many-day adventure.   So, I went with the traditional (read: pain in the ass) method, save that I opted to use a ‘poule’ rather than a ‘coq.’  That is all they had at the Earth Fairer.  A quick aside, if you are going to have poultry, I heartily recommend spending a few extra dollars and going to EF or similar fancy rich hippie store.  We aren’t rich hippies; we also don’t eat meat every meal.  I would rather be flexi and frugal and go for the good stuff when we go carni.  EF’s chicken is totally worth the extra $ or two; it is local and normal and tastes like freaking chicken.  NB, though, that it will suck up marinade because, unlike supermarket chicken, it is not pumped full of shit, and may actually be Chickie Nobs.  

Anyhoodle, I used an old Bon Appetit recipe as my guide.  Saturday I made my prep and grocery lists and hit the market.  

Early Sunday morning, I set the mis and started the prep work.  Yes, I used a Cali Pinot because, as noted above I am not a rich hippie and this bottle, although unfortunately named, did the trick nicely:

 

mis - coq au vin

mis - coq au vin

 

The mirepoix:

 

mirepoix

mirepoix

 

Next, marinade:

 

Coq au Vin, somewhere in the middle...

Coq au Vin, somewhere in the middle...

 

 

Then, several days and about a million steps later, the end result:

 

Voila le Coq au Vin!

Voila le Coq au Vin!

Special thanks to my wonderful family members who were lovely guinea pigs.  The coq (yeah, poule, I know) was very tasty.  You could almost taste each of the painstaking 5,684 steps in every bite.  Every last bit of chicken was eaten and we still had room for my S-I-L’s delicious raspberry and plum strudel.  All in all, I would rank this as a Demand-A-Dish success.

4 Comments

  1. Sam said,

    September 22, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I have to apologize – for some reason I thought coq u vin was a fairly simple dish. Had I known, I wouldn’t have suggested it. I am glad it was a success!

  2. Andrea said,

    September 22, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    You should claim this dish as “Best Damn Drunken Chicken Ever”… I know I keep saying it, but it really was some of the best chicken I’ve ever had!!!! Fabulous Chef, Fabulous Dish!!! Merci beaucoup, or as it is said in East Tennessee…. “Mercy Bo Coupe”!!!!!!

  3. southern female lawyer said,

    September 22, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Sam – it was really a joy to make. I hope I continue to get more challenging Demand-a-Dish submissions. This was a good test for me – I had never made it before and it gave me a chance to see what I could do! Andrea, I am pretty sure the dessert was better than the chicken!

  4. Dr. Monkey said,

    September 23, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Looks delicious.


Leave a Reply

