Kitchen Time Desperately Needed…

Okay, so I have been extremely busy with the lawyerin’ of late, which is good as the SLF household needs the money. [Side note? Not all lawyers are wealthy. I think people would be shocked to know what your average associate makes in these parts.  Partners make a lot of money – in my experience, anywhere between 3 and 8 times what the associates are making. And in my world, I collect roughly one billed hour for every 8 or 9 worked. I am not complaining, just trying to correct the myth that all lawyers are evil, bloodsucking, and rolling in dough.]  I will reserve the tirade on clients that do not pay for another post; suffice it to say, I am beyond sick of it at this point.  So, between the working and being sick for the last week, I am in severe need of some kitchen time.    Tonight I plan to rectify that with a nice, homey dinner:  roast beef with dijon-caper sauce, fingerling potatoes with brussels sprouts, mini thyme popovers, and maybe some brownies or something for dessert.  Until then, feast your eyes on my lovely tomatoes:

 

Mmmmmm...homegrown tomatoes rule!

Mmmmmm...homegrown tomatoes rule!

7 Comments

  1. September 10, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Dinner was awesome! You have single-handedly revived the Brussel Sprout … and the mini (and maxi) popovers are TO DIE FOR!

  2. Snad said,

    September 10, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    My garden was so pathetic this year that it makes me wee in shame when I look at your tomatoes.

  3. Snad said,

    September 10, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Well, yes, I would be shamed to wee over your tomatoes or mine. I intended t type “weep”. Again, the shame. The shame.

  4. southern female lawyer said,

    September 11, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Snad – laughed so hard! I thought wee made perfect sense!

  5. Snad said,

    September 11, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Oh! Then you’ve seen my garden, eh?

  6. The Lost Sea said,

    September 11, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Hey Girl! Whars ye git those maters?

  7. southern female lawyer said,

    September 11, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    My garden is extremely wee – all containers on the back porch. Thems mah maters! I done growed all myself. They are all ripe now, so I guess it will be salsa-makin time this weekend.


Leave a Reply

