So Tell Me What You Want

…what you really really want.  Hey.  That is rather catchy.  So, below is the poll for this week’s Demand-A-Dish.  I substituted chicken for veal, because (1) I still have lingering veal issues from 17 years as a vegetarian but mostly (2) I don’t have a solid consumer/butcher relationship established anywhere yet. And speaking of, if any local folks can recommend a good butcher, I would appreciate it.  Do we even still HAVE butchers? Anywhats, I digress.  So here is the poll, vote early and often…  OH and if you have thoughts on a particular quiche or trifle, add it to the comments section.

1 Comment

  1. September 5, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I, too, bemoan the loss of the local butcher: every grocery store used to have one. I remember looking forward to going to our local grocery store (George’s Market) as a little kid — I’d run to the back and follow the butchers around (one was our neighbor, and he later bought the store), and they’d always make a package of bones, taped up in butcher paper, for me to take home to my dog. By the time I was a teenager, George’s had been put out of business by all the chain stores coming in, and there was only one “real” butcher left in town.

    I’m happy to see the revitalization of farmer’s markets in our area, and the growing interest in local food, but meat (for better or worse) seems to have been left out of the trend, at least around here.


Leave a Reply

